Chiropractic has been a self-regulating profession in Saskatchewan since 1943. 

Chiropractic has been a self-regulating profession in Saskatchewan since its initial legislation was enacted in 1943. The profession is currently governed by The Chiropractic Act, 1994 and its bylaws.

The profession maintains strong educational standards through an accreditation process administered by the Commission on Accreditation. There are two chiropractic educational programs in Canada, one at the Canadian Memorial Chiropractic College in Toronto and the other at the University of Quebec at Trois Rivières.

Applicants to chiropractic colleges require at least three years of university education but more than two thirds have obtained a four-year undergraduate degree prior to entering chiropractic colleges for an additional four years of intensive study. Following graduation all chiropractors must pass national and provincial examinations to be eligible for registration and licensure.

Doctors of Chiropractic can take post-graduate education, generally equivalent to two years of instruction, leading to fellowship status in chiropractic sciences, radiology, rehabilitation sciences, orthopedics and sports sciences.

Practitioners in Saskatchewan must also complete specified continuing education requirements and undergo periodic assessment for quality assurance as a condition of licensure.